Panning Problems Solved for Zork Games on PC

Need to sharpen your sword? Or perhaps your lantern ran out of fuel? Well come on in, drink some rye and let Jack sharpen your blade and fill that lantern!

Moderator: KM3K

BytePlayer
A white house, what?

Panning Problems Solved for Zork Games on PC

Post by BytePlayer »

Hey All:

After Zork: Grand Inquisitor has been languishing in my closet for nigh on 12 years, I got it out to play with my 11 year old daughter and followed your instructions to get it all running very nicely, except for the panning which goes by at warp nine if your mouse gets anywhere near the edge. Even CPU killer at 90% was not consistently making it work and was causing some of the videos to become slower too.

Since I am a programmer--and my daughter still believes I can do anything (yeah, like how long is THAT going to last!)--I decided to take a crack at it. My solution seems to work rather well and should be customizable for other zork / non-zork games with a similar issue.

The premise is as follows, as soon as the mouse hits a certain x position on the edge of the screen, the pan starts and my program (named "Pan Relief") moves the cursor away from the edge, thus stopping the pan. The length of time it takes Pan Relief to react to this speeds up or slows down the panning speed in Zork. Since I figured that different programs and different machines might have different threshholds, I allow you to specify the left and right columns that needed to be hit before Pan Relief kicks in, and the speed at which it kicks in (and thus the speed of the pan). I also put in an option for it to only be active when you're in a 640 x 480 screen so that if you have to switch between Zork and another program, it can automatically kick in and out. Finally it saves and restores its settings automatically.